A change of pace!

My family and I have started really trying to change our diet for a few different reasons.  To help us get healthy, to make better food choices (haven’t had fast food since January, which is a huge accomplishment for me to begin with!), and a big reason, is to support my daughter. We are fairly certain that she is ADD/ADHD, but we are trying every route possible to find something that helps her instead of just running out and medicating her. She is really such a spirited child, and the stories I have heard from mothers that have tried the different medication out there, I don’t want her to lose that loving spirit. Ugh, I get teary eyed just thinking about it.

One of the suggestions that had been brought to my attention by her teacher and a few other moms was cutting out dyes and unnecessary sugars and high fructose corn syrup among other things.  I took her grocery shopping with me to explain what we were doing and go over the different ingredients in foods we would buy before and how they aren’t good for us.  After a few times of explaining that foods she LOVED before were not good and we would not be buying them anymore, she really understood and was really good about it. She even busted me the next morning for being bad about it. I had grabbed pop tarts because my husband will usually grab some on his way to work in the morning, and before I get some caffeine in my system, I try to keep things easy and whats easier than just saying “grab a pop tart from the snack drawers”? So that morning I was exhausted because I hadn’t slept well and just told the kids to grab one and eat up. “But mom, we can’t eat those. those are bad for us!” She then ran and grabbed the box, looked in the ingredients and said “look, right there. See, I told you they were bad!” I was really happy that she really grasped the concept and was really good about watching it and at the same time was really bummed because that meant I had to get up off of the couch and make something else! Hate when it backfires some times! lol!

Leave a Reply

